Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankuntyjatjara

About Us

Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) is incorporated by the 1981 Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Land Rights Act whereby the SA Parliament gave Aboriginal people title to more than 103,000 square kilometres of arid land in the far northwest of South Australia. All Pitjantjatjara, Yankunytjatjara and Ngaanyatjarra people who are traditional owners of any part of the Lands are members of Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara.

The main communities on the Lands include: Indulkana, Mimili, Kaltjiti, Pukatja, Amata, Pipalyatjara, and Watarru. There are several homelands as well, the larger ones being Kalka, Kanpi, Nyapari and Yunyarinyi . The APY administration centre of the Lands is located at Umuwa.

Our Mission

Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Land Management was established in 1990 to assist Pitjantjatjara and Yankunytjatjara people (Anangu) to realise their aspirations to protect the natural and cultural values of their land. 

Covering more than 10 million hectares and ten Indigenous communities, focuses include: cultural site protection, cultural information transfer and storage, protection of sites of environmental significance, threatened species monitoring and protection, and landscape-health management such as fire management and weed control. The program currently employs 9 coordinators with a range of technical and field experience, 8 permanent rangers and upwards of 175 casual rangers.

APY Land Management’s Warru, Indigenous Protected Areas and Women’s Project have a focus on the protection of threatened species, fire management and woodland protection, as well as cultural site management. Land Management has a strong focus on training Anangu, both in western science and through the passing-down of traditional knowledge from senior to younger Anangu, including school students. It works with Traditional Owners, community members, scientists, schools, environment groups as well as State and Federal Governments.